The Paul Gillette Awards

The Paul Gillette Awards are presented to the winners of the Pikes Peak Writers Fiction Contest each year during the Awards Banquet at the Pikes Peak Writers Conference.

The Paul Gillette Memorial Writing Contest was created in 1998 in conjunction with the sixth annual Pikes Peak Writers Conference (PPWC).  It was named in honor of Paul Gillette (1938-1996), who was a New York Times Best Seller, a member of the faculty at the first PPWC, and a mentor of the Conference’s founder, Jimmie Butler.

Prior to 1998, the PPWC co-sponsored a writing contest with the Friends of the Pikes Peak Library District, so the history of a Pikes Peak Writers writing contest is as old as the Pikes Peak Writers Conference itself–19 years!

In 2010 the contest became known as the Pikes Peak Writers Fiction Contest.  Winners still receive the “Paul Gillette Award” to honor Mr. Gillette and the rich history of this contest.

To read more about the Pikes Peak Writers Fiction Contest, and see a list of the most recent recipients of the Paul Gillette Award, please visit our Contest page.

Help Us Improve

We want your experience here on our web site to be a good one. Use the form below to send us any comments, questions, or feedback about the information you find here.

This form goes to our webmaster. If you have questions, comments, or concerns about something not web-related, please view our key volunteers page or board of directors page for email addresses where you can contact other people in the organization.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Message