PPW Awards

Kirsten AkensPikes Peak Writers would not exist without the hard work and dedication of our talented volunteers.  These awards honor a few whose contributions have earned special recognition.

Winning Words

“I have a hard time saying no. Especially when an organization’s mission is dear to my heart like that of Pikes Peak Writers. I’ve taken on many different roles with the organization over the years, though my favorite was probably as a two-time conference director. Watching all of the pieces of a weekend-long conference come together, and then hearing from participants and speakers alike how it’s been so beneficial to their “writerly life,” was a true joy.

I believe saying no when you’re overloaded is important, but it’s just as important to seek out one or two nonprofit organizations and give (if only a little) of your time. Much of our lives as writers are spent in solitude, as they should be, putting pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard). Through PPW, you can meet others with similar goals, all the while helping support the local writing community.”

–Kirsten Akens, PPWC Volunteer of the Year 2006

Volunteer of the Year

This award is given annually to a PPW volunteer who contributes time and energy above and beyond the call of duty for Pikes Peak Writers as a whole. Nominate someone for this award 2019 – Amy ArmstrongAmy Armstrong stepped up and made our social media into something dynamic, rather than static. Through her time with […]

Read More

PPWC Volunteer of the Year

This award is presented annually to the volunteer who has contributed the most outstanding effort to the Pikes Peak Writers Conference. Nominate someone for this award 2019 – Rebecca Davis Becki Davis has quietly worked behind the scenes at the conference for years, giving up the opportunity to attend workshops in order to make the […]

Read More

Legacy Awards

These special awards are presented in recognition for outstanding achievement over the course of a career. Nominate someone for this award 2019 – Jared Hagan Jared Hagan originated the role of conference photographer, and has done an outstanding job of providing interesting, professional shots of our conferences and events, often with very little direction. Beyond […]

Read More

Award Nominations

Fill out the form below to submit your nominations for PPW Volunteer of the Year, PPW Conference Volunteer of the Year, and Legacy Awards. The nominating process generally takes place Jan-March every year.

Read More

The Zebulon

The Zebulon Awards are presented to the winners of the Pikes Peak Writers Fiction Contest each year during the Awards Banquet at the Pikes Peak Writers Conference. The ​Zebulon began as the ​Paul Gillette Memorial Writing Contest in 1998 in conjunction with the sixth annual Pikes Peak Writers Conference (PPWC). It was named ​to​ honor Paul Gillette […]

Read More

The Martha

This is an award like no other, named in honor of a PPW veteran like no other. 2010 – Martha Lancaster Martha Lancaster officially retired from Pikes Peak Writers in 2010 after nearly twenty years of service.  That in itself is deserving of an ovation, but hold your applause until you hear what Martha has […]

Read More