Contest Winners 2012

Contest Winner 2012Below is the list of winners and VIP judges for the 2012 Pikes Peak Writers Fiction Contest.  Congratulations to all the writers who entered and placed in 2012!





Winner List – 2012 Pikes Peak Writers Fiction Contest
Children’s (Ages 8-12)  Location Title
1st: Ceil Boyles Parker, CO Hooked
2nd: Danelle Miller Colorado Springs, CO David Hale in the Land of Up-Size-Down
3rd: Cheryl Dale Yakima, WA Word Swallowing
Historical Fiction
1st: Cynthia Mines Wichita, KS Heaven in a Wildflower
2nd: Elaine Powell Manchester, UK The Canterbury Witnesses
1st: Victoria Bell Ottawa, ON Letting Go
2nd: Diane Owens Austin, TX Thin Places
3rd: Robert Welshons Cedar Falls, IA Life is a Carnivore
Mystery / Suspense / Intrigue
1st: R. Powl Smith Colorado Springs, CO The Treasure of Seleucia
2nd: Margaret Parks Tijeras, NM Murder in Madrid
3rd: George Anne Nelson Colorado Springs, CO Morning Edge
1st: Andrea Stein Breckenridge, CO Marie Galante
2nd: Michael Hope Littleton, CO Annabelle Returns
Science Fiction / Fantasy / Horror
1st: Lawdon Centennial, CO  Would I Ly 2 You
2nd: Kenneth Harmon Fort Collins, CO The Amazing Mr. Howard
3rd: Barbara Nickless Colorado Springs, CO The Quick
Short Stories
1st: Cynthia Ivers Denver, CO Biting Time
2nd: Catherine Dilts Colorado Springs, CO Georgia Peach
3rd: Terri Weiss Croton on Houston, NY By Order of the Synod
Young Adult (Ages 12-18)
1st: Beth Christopher Broomfield, CO  Disappear
2nd: Debbie Allen Woodland Park, CO The Undone
3rd: Christine Devlin Denver, CO St. Vitus Academy Book One: The Lazarus Rock

2012 VIP Judges:

A huge thank you to all of the 2012 VIP judges!

  • Romance: Leis Pederson, Associate Editor for the Berkley Publishing Group
  • Short Story: Leanne L. Burroughs of Highland Press
  • Young Adult: Pat Van Wie, Senior Editor at Belle Bridge Books
  • Historical: Lois Winston of the Ashley Grayson Literary Agency
  • Children: Kelly Sonnack of the Andrea Brown Literary Agency
  • Mystery/Suspense/Intrigue: Laura Bradford for the Laura Bradford Agency
  • Mainstream: Stacia Decker of the Donald Maass Literary Agency
  • SciFi/Fantasy/Horror: Michael Braff, Assistant Editor for Del Rey Spectra

Previous Years’ Winners: