Contest Winners 2016

Below is the list of winners and VIP judges for the 2016 Zebulon Fiction Contest.  Congratulations to all the writers who entered and placed in 2016!

The Zebulon 2016 Winners List
Middle Grade / Young Adult Location Title
1st: Hilary Harwell Aurora, CO The Trinket Guardian
2nd: Sarah Palma Colorado Springs, CO Dragon Child
3rd: Angela Sylvaine Fort Collins, CO Cherry Bomb
Mainstream / Literary / Historical Location Title
1st: Maura Weiler Denver, CO Santa Pimp
2nd: Susan Knudten Denver, CO Flünde
3rd: Trish Hermanson Lakewood, CO The Wooden Indian Resurrection
Romance / Women’s Fiction Location Title
1st: Joy Meredith Highlands Ranch, CO The Anachronists
2nd: Maura Weiler Denver, CO Santa Pimp
3rd: Ann Sharon Hill Colorado Springs, CO Wait for Me
Mystery / Suspense / Thriller Location Title
1st: Debbie Burke Kalispell, MT Instrument of the Devil
2nd: Jessica McDonald Highlands Ranch, CO The Gashouse Rules
3rd: Tom Farrell Centennial, CO In Debt in Denver
Science Fiction / Fantasy Location Title
1st: Levi Jacobs Denver, CO Ache
2nd: Davyne DeSye Colorado Springs, CO Carapace
3rd: Anthony Weineck Broomfield, CO Words That Burn
Urban Fantasy / Horror / Paranormal Location Title
1st: Sarah Stewart Woodland Park, CO Silver Secrets
2nd: Nathan Ameye Fair Grove, MO Moonshine Tides
3rd: Kiara N. Gubler Colorado Springs, CO The Bedlam Garden Society


2016 VIP Judges:

A huge thank you to all of the VIP judges!

  • Linda Epstein, The Jennifer DeChiara Literary Agency – Middle Grade/Young Adult
  • Martin Biro, Kensington Books – Mainstream/Literary/Historical
  • Caitlin Dareff, St. Martin’s Press – Romance/Women’s Fiction
  • Melissa Edwards, The Aaron M. Priest Literary Agency – Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
  • Steve Saffel, Titan Books – Random House Worlds – Science Fiction/Fantasy
  • Alec Shane, Writers House – Urban Fantasy/Horror/Paranormal

Previous Years’ Winners: